Sunday, 26 August 2007

Wigtownshire Ancestry Tours

Wigtownshire is a maritime county in the South West extremity of Scotland, forms the Westerly division of Galloway, and contains the most southernly land in Scotland. It is bounded on the North partly by the mouth of the Firth of Clyde, but chiefly by Ayrshire, East by Kirkcudbrightshire, South by the Irish Sea, and West by the Irish Channel. The interior is divided into three great districts. The peninsula, or rather the double peninsula, West of Loch Ryan and Luce Bay, is known as the Rhinns of Galloway; the district which forms the broad-based triangular peninsula between Luce Bay and Wigtown Bay is called the Machers; while the rest of the county, North of the Machers and East of Loch Ryan, bears the loose general name of the Moors. The streams of Wigtownshire are very numerous, but for the most part of short course and unimportant size. The chief is the Cree, which for 21 1/2 miles forms the boundaries between Kirkcudbright and Wigtown shires, just before it enters Wigtown Bay at Creetown. Wigtownshire is almost exclusively an agricultural and grazing county, its manufacture and commerce, and mining being but of little importance. The royal burghs in the county are Wigtown, Stranraer, and Whithorn; the burghs of barony are Newton Stewart, Glenluce, and Portpatrick. Ordnance Gazetteer of Scotland, edited by Francis H. Groome, 1885. Tour Wigtownshire, Scotland, on an Ancestry Tour of Scotland. Best Scottish Tours, Best Scottish Food, Best Scottish Hotels, Small Group Tours of Scotland.

No comments: